Apply →
KNOCKFIBER RESEARCH

Door-to-door soliciting rules by town

278 towns in 35 states; 224 codes quoted. For each code we found online: the rule, the code section, the clause in the code's own words, the source link and the date we read it. Every one was re-read on the code's own website on October 19, 2026. The other 54 towns' codes are not published online.

Published October 20, 2026

Download the data (CSV)

What the codes say, in counts

Towns by rule
RuleTowns
Uninvited home soliciting barred54
Permit or license required37
Registration required6
Hours or sign rules1
Unclear wording: ask the clerk126
Code not published online54

These are the towns we have read so far, not a random sample of the country. A town that is not listed has not been read.

The rules, in plain words

  • •Uninvited home soliciting barred: the code's words make uninvited soliciting, peddling or canvassing at private homes unlawful or a nuisance, and we found no exception for permit or license holders in the same code.
  • •Permit or license required: the code requires a permit or license before soliciting door to door.
  • •Registration required: the code requires registration, an ID card or a background check with the town before soliciting.
  • •Hours or sign rules: the code's main rules are calling hours, "No Soliciting" sign rules or a duty to leave when asked.
  • •Unclear wording: ask the clerk: the wording cuts both ways (for example a permit chapter and a ban with no carve-out, or an undefined "without the consent of the owner" clause). We quote it and conclude nothing.
  • •Code not published online: we could not find the town's code of ordinances online on the date shown.

By state

States with 3 or more towns have their own page, with the state's statutes on home solicitation sales and transient merchants where we read them. The other states' towns are listed below the table.

Towns by state and rule
StateTownsBarredPermit, registration or hoursUnclearNot online
Alabama1410112
Arizona91332
Arkansas41012
California94311
Colorado41120
Florida110290
Georgia2221172
Idaho61140
Illinois60330
Indiana135071
Iowa21100
Kansas60033
Kentucky71024
Louisiana159150
Michigan90180
Minnesota101351
Mississippi2814617
Missouri10010
Nebraska21100
Nevada30030
New Hampshire1100110
North Carolina143353
Ohio81250
Oklahoma20020
Oregon20020
Pennsylvania50203
South Carolina92061
Tennessee102530
Texas2342152
Utah20110
Virginia10100
Washington42020
West Virginia10010
Wisconsin30210
Wyoming21010

Towns in the other states

Davenport

Permit or license required
“No person shall engage in transient sales covered by this chapter without first having obtained a transient merchant license as required by this chapter.”

A transient merchant license is required for door-to-door selling; calls are limited to set hours and may not defy a posted no-solicitor notice.

County
Scott County
Section
Ch. 5.17, Sec. 5.17.010(B), 5.17.020, 5.17.030(C)(D)(F)
Hours / signs
Sec. 5.17.030(C): no calls against a posted no-solicitor notice; (D): door to door 9:00 a.m.-6:30 p.m. weekdays and Saturday, none Sunday or holidays
Permit
Transient merchant license required (Sec. 5.17.010(B)); licensee carries and shows it door to door (Sec. 5.17.030(I)); fee not stated in chapter.
Code version
eCode360 DA4058, includes legislation through 07-22-2026
Source
Davenport code on eCode360, read October 19, 2026

Mason City

Uninvited home soliciting barred
“The practice of peddlers/vendors, solicitors, or transient merchants, whether licensed or not … of going in and upon private residences and property without having been requested or invited … is hereby declared to be a nuisance”

Uninvited calls at private residences to solicit orders are declared a nuisance and a simple misdemeanor, whether or not the caller is licensed; the clause names goods, wares and merchandise.

County
Cerro Gordo County
Section
Title 3 Ch. 9, Sec. 3-9-8 (also 3-9-1, 3-9-2, 3-9-4(G), 3-9-10)
Permit
Peddler, solicitor and transient merchant licenses exist (Sec. 3-9-1, 3-9-3 to 3-9-7); the nuisance clause applies whether licensed or not.
Code version
American Legal, 2026 S-16 (current); code current through Ord. 26-10, passed May 5, 2026
Source
Mason City code on American Legal, read October 19, 2026

University City

Unclear wording: ask the clerk
“It is unlawful for any person to carry on the business of a peddler or hawker in the City unless the person has a license issued therefor by the City Manager or the City Manager's designee.”

A door-to-door seller (peddler) needs a license, but the code issues it only to tax-exempt charities selling on a business's premises; sign and evening rules also apply.

County
St. Louis County
Section
Ch. 610, Sec. 610.010, 610.030, 610.060(A)-(B), 610.070(A)
Hours / signs
Sec. 610.070(A)(3)-(4): no entry or staying where a no-soliciting sign is posted; (8): restrictions begin 7:00 p.m. Nov-Mar, 8:30 p.m. Apr-Oct
Permit
Peddler license, City Manager, 30 dollars, up to 48 hours (Sec. 610.040, 610.060); Sec. 610.060(B)(1) limits it to 501(c)(3) charities on a business's premises.
Code version
eCode360 UN3457, includes legislation through 12-08-2025
Source
University City code on eCode360, read October 19, 2026

Friend

Uninvited home soliciting barred
“The unrequested visitation by solicitors, hawkers, peddlers, itinerant merchants and transient vendors of merchandise at private residences for the purpose of soliciting orders or selling merchandise … is prohibited. The violation thereof shall be punishable as a public nuisance.”

Unrequested visits by solicitors and peddlers at private residences to solicit orders or sell merchandise are prohibited and punishable as a public nuisance; the chapter contains no permit.

County
Saline County
Section
Ch. 111, Sec. 111.01(A)(1); Sec. 111.99
Code version
City of Friend Ordinance Book (published 2016), Ch. 111 as shown on city site; (1999 code, 10-201); Ord. 00-20, passed 6-6-2000
Source
Friend code on city site, read October 19, 2026

Milford

Permit or license required
“It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in business as a peddler as hereinafter defined within the corporate limits of the City without first having obtained a permit thereof as herein provided.”

Door-to-door peddlers, defined to include canvassers, solicitors and order-takers, need a permit and may call only 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. unless requested. A separate trespass section also applies.

County
Seward County
Section
Ch. 10 Art. 2, Sec. 10-201, 10-202, 10-205, 10-208, 10-210; also Sec. 6-304
Hours / signs
Sec. 10-205: no door-to-door in-person calls before 8:00 a.m. or after 6:00 p.m. on any day unless requested by the prospective customer.
Permit
Peddler permit, City Clerk after Police Chief review; fee 15 dollars (one week) to 75 dollars (one year); max one year (Sec. 10-202.01 to 10-208).
Code version
American Legal, 2024 S-19 (current); current through Ord. No. 983, passed 12/3/24
Source
Milford code on American Legal, read October 19, 2026

Idabel

Unclear wording: ask the clerk
“It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in outdoor selling on private property in the nature of peddling street vending or soliciting, as defined herein, … without first obtaining a permit as provided herein.”

The code defines peddlers and solicitors as house-to-house sellers and requires a permit, but the permit terms assume a commercially zoned selling location; a posted No Solicitors sign bars entry.

County
McCurtain County
Section
Ch. 24 Art. VII, Sec. 24-253, 24-254, 24-255, 24-256(b), 24-258, 24-261
Hours / signs
Sec. 24-254: no entering or attempting to peddle or solicit where a No Solicitors sign is posted; doing so is a trespass.
Permit
Permit from city clerk/treasurer; three days per location, once per 30 days; clerk checks the location is commercially zoned (Sec. 24-256(b), 24-258).
Code version
Municode, Code of Ordinances City of Idabel, codified through Ordinance No. 624, adopted January 2, 2024 (Supp. No. 3); version Aug 13, 2024
Source
Idabel code on Municode, read October 19, 2026

Sapulpa

Unclear wording: ask the clerk
“Trespass shall include each and every actual entry upon the premises of an owner or other person in lawful possession of the premises without the express consent of the owner or other person in lawful possession.”

Peddlers and solicitors need a city license with set hours and sign rules, while a separate trespass section treats every entry without the owner's express consent as trespass.

County
Creek County
Section
Sec. 10-317(A)-(C); Part 9 Ch. 10, Sec. 9-1003, 9-1004, 9-1006
Hours / signs
Sec. 9-1003: business in residential districts only 9:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m., not Sunday, unless by appointment; Sec. 9-1004: a No Solicitors sign makes entry a trespass.
Permit
Peddler or solicitor license from City Clerk (Sec. 9-1006); fee per Master Fee Schedule; criminal history report and tax registration required (Sec. 9-1007, 9-1008).
Code version
Municode, codified through Ordinance No. 2994, enacted June 1, 2026 (Supp. No. 7); version Jul 15, 2026
Source
Sapulpa code on Municode, read October 19, 2026

Florence

Unclear wording: ask the clerk
“If any person shall, without authority or permission from the owner or legal custodian thereof, knowingly enter into or upon any public or private land … or any other premises … without first obtaining legal consent”

No door-to-door ordinance found; a general business license covers solicitors and peddlers, and an unlawful-entry section requires owner consent to enter premises. Its reach to door-to-door callers is not stated.

County
Lane County
Section
Title 6 Ch. 1 Sec. 6-1-4-4; Title 3 Ch. 1 Sec. 3-1-3-1, 3-1-8-4, 3-1-8-5
Permit
City business license for any business (Sec. 3-1-3-1); Class 4 solicitors give names for criminal history check; Class 5 peddlers need written owner consent.
Code version
City site per-chapter PDFs: Title 6 Ch. 1 (file modified 2018-10-05; Ord. 332, 7-22-59), Title 3 Ch. 1 (file modified 2018-06-12)
Source
Florence code on city site, read October 19, 2026

Milwaukie

Unclear wording: ask the clerk
“No person shall maintain, operate, engage in, conduct, or carry on any business within the City without first having paid the business tax as established by this chapter.”

No door-to-door soliciting ordinance found. The general business tax chapter names peddlers and solicitors as businesses that must pay the annual city business tax. We found no door-to-door soliciting chapter; the business-tax clause names peddlers and solicitors.

County
Clackamas County
Section
Ch. 5.08, Sec. 5.08.020 ("Business"), 5.08.030(A)
Permit
Annual city business tax, paid in advance with an information form; fee set by fee resolution (Sec. 5.08.030, 5.08.050, 5.08.060). Definition names peddlers and solicitors.
Code version
eCode360 MI4969, includes legislation through Ord. No. 2265 adopted September 1, 2026
Source
Milwaukie code on eCode360, read October 19, 2026

Provo

Registration required
“Unless otherwise exempt under this Chapter, any person desiring to engage in door-to-door solicitation within the City, prior to doing so, shall submit a completed application to the Licensing Officer and obtain a certificate.”

Door-to-door solicitors must register and obtain a certificate, keep to 9 a.m. to 9 p.m., and honor No Solicitation signs. A separate trespass section requires owner permission to enter premises.

County
Utah County
Section
Ch. 6.09, Sec. 6.09.050, 6.09.060, 6.09.170, 6.09.190; also Sec. 9.14.110(1)
Hours / signs
Sec. 6.09.190: no soliciting at a residence before 9:00 a.m. or after 9:00 p.m. without prior permission; Sec. 6.09.170-.180: honor No Solicitation signs.
Permit
Solicitor registration certificate from Licensing Officer after application, criminal-history report and ID check; denial only for listed disqualifying statuses (Sec. 6.09.060 to 6.09.140).
Code version
Provo City Code (provo.municipal.codes), current through Ordinance 2026-23, passed June 23, 2026
Source
Provo code on Code Publishing, read October 19, 2026

Richfield

Unclear wording: ask the clerk
“It is unlawful for any person to conduct the business of a solicitor without first securing a license pursuant to the provisions of this chapter.”

Door-to-door solicitors need a license and keep to 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. and posted notices. The definition names merchandise, not services; a transient-business clause requires owner authorization.

County
Sevier County
Section
Sec. 5.32.010, 5.32.020, 5.04.020 (Solicitor; Transient Business)
Hours / signs
Sec. 5.32.010: solicitation only 9:00 a.m.-9:00 p.m.; no soliciting in defiance of a notice that solicitors are not welcome or not invited.
Permit
Solicitor license; photos, fingerprints, 3,000 dollar surety bond or 300 dollar cash deposit (Sec. 5.32.010). Transient business license needs record owner's written authorization (Sec. 5.32.020).
Code version
City code on civiclinQ hosting (richfieldut.gov); Sec. 5.32.010 history Ord. 1989-2, Sec. 5.32.020 history Ord. 2009-12; no codification date shown
Source
Richfield code on city site, read October 19, 2026

Abingdon

Permit or license required
“It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in the business of peddler, vendor, solicitor, as defined in this article, within the limits of the Town of Abingdon, Virginia, without first obtaining a permit as provided herein.”

Door-to-door solicitors, defined to include orders for services, need a town permit of up to 30 days; No Soliciting signs, side and rear yards, and holidays are restricted.

County
Washington County
Section
Ch. 18 Art. VI, Sec. 18-130, 18-131, 18-132, 18-134, 18-143.1
Hours / signs
Sec. 18-143.1: no entering where a No Soliciting sign is displayed; no side or rear yards without invitation; no operating on state or federal holidays.
Permit
Permit from Town Manager; apply 30 days ahead; fee set by Council; permits not issued for more than 30 days (Sec. 18-133, 18-134).
Code version
eCode360 AB4257, includes legislation through 01-05-2026 (Art. VI amended by Ord. No. 2026.01.06)
Source
Abingdon code on eCode360, read October 19, 2026

Huntington

Unclear wording: ask the clerk
“the practice of going in and upon private residences in the city by solicitors, peddlers, hawkers, itinerant merchants and transient vendors of merchandise, not having been requested or invited … is hereby declared to be a nuisance”

Uninvited calls at private residences to solicit orders for goods, wares and merchandise are declared a nuisance, fined 75 to 200 dollars; a separate annual hawker or peddler license exists.

County
Cabell County
Section
Part 7 Ch. 1 Art. 717, Sec. 717.01, 717.99; Art. 713, Sec. 713.08; Part 7 Ch. 3 Art. 739, Sec. 739.01-739.02
Permit
Annual hawker or peddler license fee, 20 dollars plus per-vehicle charges (Sec. 739.01); charitable solicitors need a Sec. 713.08 permit, which Sec. 717.01 excepts.
Code version
Municode, Codified Ordinances of Huntington, WV, codified through Ordinance No. 2025-O-31, adopted September 22, 2025 (Supp. No. 8); version Jun 4, 2026
Source
Huntington code on Municode, read October 19, 2026

Evanston

Unclear wording: ask the clerk
“It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in peddling or solicitation activities within the City without first obtaining a license issued by the City Clerk.”

The City Code sets a 14-day solicitor license with 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. hours; the city's licensing page says door-to-door residential solicitations are strictly prohibited unless invited.

County
Uinta County
Section
Ch. 11 Pt. 5 Art. VII, Sec. 11-61, 11-62, 11-63, 11-66, 11-68, 11-69; city licensing web page
Hours / signs
Sec. 11-68: no solicitation where a No Solicitors notice is posted; none before 9:00 a.m. or after 7:00 p.m. without invitation.
Permit
Solicitor's business license from City Clerk; sworn application, ID, state sales tax registration; license effective 14 days (Sec. 11-66, 11-69).
Code version
eCode360 EV2229, includes legislation through 08-18-2026 (Part 5 adopted 5-17-2011, Ord. No. 11-02)
Source
Evanston code on eCode360, read October 19, 2026

Rock Springs

Uninvited home soliciting barred
“The practice of going in and upon private residences in the city, by solicitors, peddlers, hawkers, itinerant merchants and transient vendors of merchandise not having been requested or invited … is hereby forbidden and declared to be a nuisance”

Going upon private residences uninvited to solicit orders for goods, wares and merchandise is forbidden as a nuisance; the licensing chapter has no exception for licensees, only listed exemptions.

County
Sweetwater County
Section
Sec. 133.12(A); Ch. 113, Sec. 113.01(A)-(B), 113.10, 113.11
Hours / signs
Sec. 113.10(A): no calls at a dwelling 8:00 p.m.-9:00 a.m. except by appointment; none against a No Solicitors sign; none at rear doors.
Permit
Peddler or solicitor license from City Clerk (Sec. 113.01(B), 113.05); Sec. 113.01(A) still forbids entering private property to solicit unless an exception applies.
Code version
American Legal, 2026 S-2 (current); local legislation current through Ord. 2026-08, passed 6-16-2026
Source
Rock Springs code on American Legal, read October 19, 2026

How to check a town yourself

Find the code, search it for solicit, peddl, canvass and transient, read the definitions before the rule, and ask the clerk in writing. Our permits guide walks through it.

Questions

Do I need a permit to sell door to door?
It depends on the town. Of the 278 towns in this table, 37 have a code that requires a permit or license and 6 require registration before soliciting; many others pair a permit chapter with other rules, which we list as unclear. Some states add their own rules. Read the code for the exact address and ask the clerk.
What is a Green River ordinance?
The common name for a local law that makes going to private homes uninvited to sell goods or services unlawful or a nuisance. In this table, the codes of 54 towns contain a clause of that kind.
Is a "No Soliciting" sign legally binding?
In some towns the code gives the sign legal force: soliciting at a home that displays it is an offense. Where the code says so, the row's "Hours / signs" line quotes the section.
What does "unclear wording: ask the clerk" mean?
The code's words cut both ways, for example a permit chapter that licenses home calls next to a ban with no carve-out. We quote the clause and draw no conclusion; the town clerk or a lawyer can tell you how it is applied.
How current is this?
Every row shows the date it was read (all October 19, 2026) and, for codes found online, the code version the host showed. Codes change; check the source link before you rely on a row.

Data, versions and corrections

Version 2026-10-20: first publication, 278 towns. The CSV at https://www.knockfiber.com/research/data/door-to-door-soliciting-rules.csv keeps the same address as rows are added or corrected; each row carries its own read date. Cite as: KnockFiber Research, “Door-to-Door Soliciting Rules by Town,” version 2026-10-20.

Not legal advice. KnockFiber is an independent recruiting company, not a law firm. This page quotes municipal codes as we read them on the date shown; codes change, and a clerk or a lawyer decides how a rule applies to you. Before you knock, read the current code and ask the town clerk, in writing. Found an error or a newer ordinance? Email recruiting@knockfiber.com and we will re-read the code and log the change.